Questions had been raised within the method Pandya was given out by third umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan. The incident occurred within the fortieth over of the Indian innings when Pandya tried to chop an incoming angular supply from Kiwi all-rounder Daryl Mitchell, however missed it utterly.
Out or Not Out? Hardik Pandya’s unusual dismissal 🤔📹📹https://t.co/teZPDiFWn5 #TeamIndia #INDvNZ
— BCCI (@BCCI) 1674041261000
The bails got here off and Mitchell and his teammates celebrated, considering he had bowled Hardik. However then Kiwi captain and wicket-keeper Tom Latham requested for the umpires to evaluation it as a result of he felt he may need nicked the bails together with his gloves.
The third umpire requested for a number of replays and even checked UltraEdge to see if the ball had grazed Hardik’s bat. Within the split-screen photographs that had been proven to him by the TV crew, it was clearly seen that the ball did not appear to have grazed the off stump in any respect. And that the bails lit up and fell after the ball had been collected by Latham who was standing as much as the stumps.
Hardik’s teammates too weren’t happy with the decision and when Latham acquired into the center with New Zealand chasing 350, his behavior of conserving his palms behind the wicket, dangerously near the stumps was imitated by India keeper Ishan Kishan.
The Indians appealed for a stumping on the primary ball Latham confronted off off-spinner Kuldeep Yadav as Kishan took the bails off in jest.
Latham was very a lot within the crease however Kishan went forward with the enchantment and that didn’t go down effectively with former India captain Sunil Gavaskar.
“Taking the bails off was superb however he mustn’t have appealed,” mentioned Gavaskar on air.
Like Kishan, Latham too was amused by the incident.
(With PTI Inputs)