Mary Kom to steer Oversight Committee to probe allegations towards WFI president | Extra sports activities Information

Trending News World News

NEW DELHI: Boxing greatM C Mary Kom will lead a five-member Oversight Committee that may probe the sexual harassment fees towards Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.
The federal government-appointed committee may even run the day-to-day affairs of WFI for the subsequent one month.
The opposite members of the panel are Olympic medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, former badminton participant and Mission Olympic Cell member Trupti Murgunde, ex-TOPS CEO Rajagopalan and former SAI government director – groups – Radhica Sreeman.

The announcement of the panel was made by Sports activities Minister Anurag Thakur on Monday.
Thakur had determined to type the committee on Saturday following a three-day sit-in protest by among the nation’s high wrestlers together with Vinesh Phogat, Bajrang Punia, Sakshi Malik and Ravi Dahiya towards the WFI and its chief.
The wrestlers ended their protest after a breakthrough was achieved throughout a marathon second spherical of talks with Thakur late on Friday night time.
“The WFI president won’t discharge his duties and steer clear of day-to-day affairs of WFI. The day-to-day working of WFI might be taken care of by the Oversight Committee until their mandated period and it’ll additionally probe the intense allegations towards WFI and its chief,” Thakur stated.
“The Oversight Committee might be underneath the chairmanship of world champion Mary Kom. Alongside along with her, Yogeshwar Dutt, MOC member and Dronacharya awardee Trupti Murgunde, fomer TOPS CEO Rajagopalan and former ED Groups, SAI Radica Sreeman might be a part of the committee.

Who’s Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh – the controversial head of WFI and 6-term MP?

“Within the subsequent one month, this committee will probe into the sexual allegations and different fees after speaking to all events and submit its report. Until then all of the day-to-day selections and workings of WFI might be taken care of by this committee,” he added.
Each Mary Kom and Yogeshwar are additionally a part of the the seven-member committee fashioned by the Indian Olympic Affiliation (IOA) to probe the allegations of sexual harassment and corruption towards the WFI chief.
Apart from legendary boxer Mary Kom and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, the IOA panel contains archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWLF) president and IOA treasurer Sahdev Yadav.
The opposite members of the IOA committee are two advocates — Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra — in addition to former shuttler and IOA joint secretary Alaknanda Ashok, who’s its vice chairperson.
The agitating wrestlers, together with younger Anshu Malik, Sangeeta Phogat and Sonam Malik amongst others, began the sit-in protest at Jantar Mantar right here on Wednesday and demanded the sacking of the WFI chief.
The wrestlers additionally demanded that the WFI be disbanded instantly and a brand new panel is fashioned, together with grapplers in it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *