Ranji Trophy: Vaibhav, Divij energy Delhi to maiden win of the season | Cricket Information

Business & Health Health & Medical World News
NEW DELHI: Vaibhav Rawal scored a high-quality century earlier than pacer Divij Mehra‘s five-for dismantled Mumbai as Delhi notched a memorable eight-wicket win in a Ranji Trophy Group B match on Friday.
It was Delhi’s first outright win over heavyweights Mumbai because the 1979-80 Ranji Trophy remaining, when Bishan Singh Bedi’s aspect obtained the higher of Sunil Gavaskar’s staff by 240 runs.
Bowling out Mumbai for 293 within the first innings, Delhi took a 76-run lead owing to Vaibhav Rawal’s 114 and skipper Himmat Singh’s 85.
The 20-year-old Mehra, taking part in solely his second first-class recreation, then gave a masterclass in seam bowling on the Arun Jaitley Stadium as he ran by way of the much-vaunted Mumbai top-order.
His scalps included Prithvi Shaw, Musheer Khan, Armaan Jaffer, first innings centurion Sarfaraz Khan, and Mohit Avasthi as he paved the way in which for Delhi’s maiden win of the season.
Resuming at 168/9 on the ultimate day, Mumbai’s Tanush Kotian (50 not out) managed to get his half-century earlier than spinner Hrithik Shokeen snared the final wicket with Mumbai managing to attain 170 of their second essay.
With lower than 100 runs required for the win, Delhi, who’ve thus far endured a tumultuous season and are out of the quarterfinal competition, appeared desperate to bag the victory.
Opener Anuj Rawat (14) slammed two boundaries and a six in his four-ball innings. Vaibahv Sharma (36 ) and Hrithik Shokeen (36 not out) then put up a 69-run stand, hitting 9 fours and two sixes between them.
With Sharma getting out within the sixteenth over, former skipper and IPL specialist Nitish Rana, who was added to the squad on the eve of the match, walked to the center and despatched the very first supply he confronted for a six, to seal Delhi’s win.
The loss has affected the Ajinkya Rahane-led Mumbai’s possibilities for a quarterfinal spot.
Within the different matches within the group, spinner Lalith Mohan, who had a five-for within the first innings, grabbed a six-wicket haul (6/58) within the second essay as Andhra beat Saurashtra by 150 runs, whereas Tamil Nadu claimed an innings and 70-run win over Assam.
Temporary Scores:
At Delhi: Mumbai 293 and 170 in 60.5 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 51, Tanush Kotian 50 not out; Divij Mehra 5/30) vs Delhi 369 and 97 for two (Vaibhav Sharma 36, Hrithik Shokeen 36; Mohit Avasthi 1/24)
Factors: Delhi 11, Mumbai 23.
At Rajkot: Andhra 415 and 164 for 7 decl in 45 overs (Abhishek Reddy 33, Hanuma Vihari 37, Karan Shinde 50 not out; Jaydev Unadkat 2/17) vs Saurashtra 237 and 192 in 56.2 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara 91; Lalith Mohan 6/58)
Factors: Andhra 19, Saurashtra 26
At Chennai: Tamil Nadu 540 vs Assam 266 and 204 in 88.1 overs (Rishav Das 58; Ajith Ram 5/70)
Factors: Tamil Nadu 15, Assam 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *