The incident occurred within the fortieth over of the Indian innings when Pandya tried to chop an incoming angular supply from Kiwi all-rounder Daryl Mitchell, however missed it fully.
Out or Not Out? Hardik Pandya’s unusual dismissal 🤔📹📹https://t.co/teZPDiFWn5 #TeamIndia #INDvNZ
— BCCI (@BCCI) 1674041261000
The bails got here off and Mitchell and his teammates celebrated, considering he had bowled Hardik. However then Kiwi captain and wicket-keeper Tom Latham requested for the umpires to evaluate it as a result of he felt he might need nicked the bails together with his gloves.
The third umpire requested for a number of replays and even checked UltraEdge to see if the ball had grazed Hardik’s bat. Within the split-screen photos that had been proven to him by the TV crew, it was clearly seen that the ball did not appear to have grazed the off stump in any respect. And that the bails lit up and fell after the ball had been collected by Latham who was standing as much as the stumps.
Is @hardikpandya7 out or not out ???#TeamIndia#INDvsNZ#HardikPandya https://t.co/5nEb76OulJ
— Munaf Patel (@munafpa99881129) 1674039748000
However the third umpire dominated within the favour of NZ, giving Hardik out and leaving everybody surprised together with the Kiwis and the commentators. Former India cricketer and Head Coach Ravi Shastri sounded extraordinarily stunned in commentary and later additionally talked about how the ball had cleared the stumps with out the bails lighting up.
Normally when there isn’t a clear proof to indicate if a batter is out or not, most umpires give the good thing about the doubt to the batter. On this case although video replays appeared to obviously present that the ball had not hit the stumps. However then, the umpire’s name is closing.
Apparently, simply 5 deliveries later, within the subsequent over bowled by Michael Bracewell, Latham’s gloves brushed and took off the bails once more. This time Shubman Gill, who went on to smash his maiden ODI double ton was on strike.